Welcome to the Neuroscience Devils (thanks to Neuroskeptic for that name)! This blog will contain anonymous guest posts by neuroscience and psychology researchers writing in the spirit of the now defunct Devil’s Neuroscientist. The idea is simple: posters may argue or rant against the prevailing views in the field concerning science policy, issues with the research community, or even specific scientific questions. Basically just about any topic is fine that challenges the general dogma or zeitgeist, such as “Why we should not share our data,” or “There is no replication crisis,” or “Bayesian inference is like a religion,” or “Big hype research area X everybody else does is complete nonsense.” You are especially welcome to express views you feel you can’t say publicly under your own name. It doesn’t matter if you agree or disagree with me (you wouldn’t know that anyway unless I tell you explicitly). Just be respectful and don’t slander.

The invitation to post is open to anyone although ideally they should be from the fields of neuroscience or psychology unless your post is very generally about scientific research. The style of your post, how long it is, how funny it tries to be etc, is all up to you. There are only a few very basic ground rules:

1. Don’t use profanity or name-calling, or really any kind of abusive language.

2. Don’t advocate truly immoral, deeply unethical, and/or outright illegal things.

3. Keep it general. This isn’t the venue for personal vendettas. Please keep it respectful and fair, even (or especially) if you are joking.

4. This blog won’t advocate pseudoscience. I won’t let this turn into an anti-vaxer or climate change denial platform (although the latter isn’t neuroscience anyway). If you want to “challenge dogma” on such topics, your post better come with some solid evidence!

If you have a post, or just the idea for one, please contact me, Sam Schwarzkopf, at the email below. I will copy and paste your post from the documents you email me. I created a specific email account for this blog, which I will never check from my office and thus the information never passes through my university’s network. I promise to keep any correspondence with me about this blog in the strictest confidence. However, if that still worries you, you can also go through an intermediary you trust and/or email me from an anonymous account.

One final thing: for now I decided to turn off comments. It feels to me that it would be too complex for me to host discussions of other people’s posts. I may change that in the future and if you really feel you want to allow discussion of your own post I can turn it on just for that on request.

Anyway, I hope to hear from many Devils! Please follow @NeuroDevils on Twitter to hear about new posts. Email your posts and inquiries to:

neurodevils -at- gmail -dot- com

